top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureTroy Rivera-McIntosh

Dude, nice scratch! How did you get it?


I titled this post, “Dude, nice scratch! How did you get it?” because today I decided to lie outside on the lawn and just listen to nature and enjoy the beautiful day. During this time, several kiddos in the complex are riding their skateboards and rolling down the semi sloop road. I had a flashback to the time I had my own skateboard because it was the cool things to have. My parents bought me one and I was so in love with it that I was excited to roll down the street on my new skateboard and show it off to my friends. Having this new skateboard that I loved so much, I grew cautious about scratching and damaging it. Many times my friends want to ride it or have me do crazy tricks that would require me scratching it. I didn’t want to do that because I always wanted my skateboard to be perfect.


Perfect! This has always been a norm or status quo to everything: Love, careers, relationships, materials, our spiritual lives, and so much more. Well, many years later I’m here to say, “Dude, nice scratch! How did you get it?”


I’ve learned that having scratches in areas of love, careers, relationships, materials, our spiritual lives, and etc. is okay. Yes, I said it! It is okay to have scratches. These scratches signify our life and journey of who we are. These scratches give us evidence of the challenges and obstacles we tackled in life and overcame. These scratches tell our story.

Because of these scratches, we are living PERFECTLY! Being perfect doesn’t give you fruitful life. Being perfect doesn’t give evidence to a journey or adventure. Being perfect is BORING and is stale when scratches don’t exist.


The scratches are memories of the tricks we tried or the challenges we defeated with grit and perseverance. These scratches are our honor badges. So…

Dude, nice scratch! How did you get it?

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page